Week One Over Already?!

11650857_10152853394203204_1074863078_n
The threshing room

I come to the end of today exhausted from all my travelling home and bewildered by how fast these past few days have gone! In the last week I have learnt all sorts of new things and met many interesting and wonderful people. I have had a tremendous amount of fun with my work and hope that this continues for the next 3 weeks!

Today was a great day! Louise and I finished of the threshing of the wheat for the University of Bristol in the morning and met a few other people in the threshing room to have a good old chat about our work! This is a difficult task as the job is quite intensive and requires plenty of concentration, we don’t want to mix up the packets, or worse accidentally chuck all the seeds down the ventilator!

11651267_10152853394198204_312349669_n
My concentrating face

However, I managed to get through the task without any major slip-ups! So glad I made it through my week in an accommodating manner rather than a destructive one!

I then spent the rest of the afternoon compiling a database for the photos I had taken on the field. This was the first time I had used one of the site computers so I had to get IT to give me a new password as I couldn’t get access. After this bit of a palaver I was all set and ready to go on the system. This was quite a long winded task so I should be able to pick it up on and off throughout the weeks, ensuring my day doesn’t get too monotonous.

This evening I spent on buses, trains, tubes and cars trying to get home. I can finally say that I’m here for the weekend, hurrah! It was such a stressful journey, but then it always is with my mini-anxiety over public transport!

Leave a comment